Case 1
Rule 60.1, Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or Rule 69 Action
Rule 63.1, Hearings: Requirement for a Hearing
Rule 64.2, Decisions: Penalties
A boat that breaks a rule while racing but continues to race may protest over a later incident, even though after the race she is penalized for her breach.
Boats A, B and C are racing with others. After an incident between A and B, A hails ‘Protest!’ and displays her protest flag, but B does not take a penalty. Later, B protests a third boat, C, after a second incident. The protest committee hears A’s protest against B and penalizes B.

Does this disqualification invalidate B's protest against C? 

No. When a boat continues to race after an alleged breach of a rule, her rights and obligations under the rules do not change. Consequently, even though A’s protest against B is upheld, the protest committee must hear B’s protest against C and, if B’s protest is valid and the protest committee is satisfied from the evidence that C broke a rule, C must be penalized (see rule 64.2).

GBR 1962/25
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more