Boat A leaves the first mark of the course on the wrong side. Then, without correcting her error, she sails the remainder of the course correctly and crosses the finishing line from the course side and then returns to the harbour. Another boat, B, sees A leave the first mark on the wrong side and decides to protest her.
Does A finish when she crosses the finishing line?
A finishes provided that she crosses the finishing line in accordance with the definition Finish
, whether or not she has sailed the course in accordance with the definition Sail the Course
.. Because A did not continue to sail the course after crossing the finishing line, she finished in accordance with the definition at the time she crossed the line (see definition Finish
When does A break rule 28.1
A makes an error when she leaves the first mark on the wrong side. However, rule 28.2
allows her to correct her error at any time before she finishes, but not thereafter. Therefore, A does not break rule 28.1
until she finishes.
When must B inform A of her intention to protest?
(a)(3) states that B need not hail "Protest" or display a red flag, but she must inform A of her intention to protest before A finishes or at the first reasonable opportunity after A finishes.