Case 144
Definitions, Mark-Room
Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule  18.2(c), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule  21, Exoneration
An obligation to give mark-room continues until the entitled boat has passed the mark, leaving it on the required side. The definition Mark-Room defines the space a boat is required to give, and the other boat is exonerated under rule 21 only if she is sailing within that space.
144.jpg 82 KB
Boats A and B are sailing downwind approaching a mark they are required to leave to port. The course to the next mark is a beam reach. A reaches the zone clear ahead of B and rounds the mark wide. At position 3 B becomes overlapped with A. At position 4 A is more than one length to leeward of the mark when B, alongside the mark, luffs around the mark inside A.

After position 4 A luffs quickly; B responds promptly but at position 5 is unable to keep clear. Both boats protest.

Question 1
Is B required to continue to give A mark-room after position 3, and does she fulfill this requirement?

Answer 1

B is required to give A mark-room under rule 18.2(b). This includes room for A to leave the mark on the required side, which she has not completed at position 4.

Between positions 4 and 5 B gives A room to complete her passing of the mark, and also gives her room to sail her proper course in compliance with rule 18.2(c)(2).

Question 2
Which boat is penalized and which boat is exonerated at position 5?

Answer 2
A is penalized and B is exonerated.

After position 3, A’s proper course is no longer to sail close to the mark. Therefore the mark-room to which she is entitled no longer includes room to sail to the mark and, when she luffs between positions 4 and 5 without giving B room to keep clear, she breaks rule 16.1 and is not exonerated under rule  21(a).

Before A luffs, B is keeping clear. When A luffs, B is entitled by rule 16.1 to room from A to keep clear. B is therefore exonerated under rule  21(a) for breaking rule  11 at position 5.

The answer would be the same if B had been able to keep clear of A at position 5, but only by making contact with the mark. A would have broken rule 16.1 and B would have been exonerated under rule  21(b) for her breach of rule  31.

World Sailing 2018
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more