A boat breaks rule 18.3 at the finish line when she causes a boat who has been on starboard tack since entering the zone to sail above close hauled to avoid contact.
Situation Approaching a windward finish line, Blue on port passes head to wind inside the zone of the port end finishing mark, and then luffs above close-hauled to finish. Green has to luff above close-hauled to avoid contact, and protests. Question Did any of the boats break a rule?
Answer Blue broke rule 18.3 when she caused Green, who has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, to sail above close hauled to avoid contact.
Although after finishing a boat need not cross the finishing line completely, until they finish both boats are required to leave a finishing mark on the same side, therefore rule 18 applies. When Blue passes head-to-wind from port to starboard tack inside the zone, and is then fetching the port end finishing mark, rule 18.3 applies between her and Green.
27 March 2019
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual