In all the questions Blue has been signaled correctly as being OCS, but may be unaware that she was OCS and nevertheless continued sailing the course instead of returning and starting correctly.
Yellow and Blue are approaching the windward mark. Blue is on port tack and Yellow is on starboard tack. Yellow bears away below her proper course but never to a downwind course, and passes to leeward of the mark. Blue tacks to keep clear of Yellow. Yellow tacks and rounds the mark well ahead of Blue. There is a Y-flag. What should the call be?
At position 2 Yellow is in the zone and is right of way, inside boat. Under rule 18.3
, until she tacks, Yellow is required to sail no further from the mark than needed to sail her proper course. By bearing away at position 3 Yellow is no longer sailing her proper course.
Both boats round the windward mark and bear away towards the leeward mark. Blue on starboard tack approaches Yellow on port tack. Both boats are sailing proper courses. Yellow is forced to gybe away to keep clear of Blue. There is a Y flag. What should the call be?
Display the green and white flag.
Although Blue has not started correctly and may subsequently be scored OCS, she is sailing the course with full rights and obligations under the rules. Blue is not sailing towards the starting line in order to start, so rule 22.1
does not apply.
When should boats be considered to be sailing on the same leg?
Boats should be considered to be sailing on the same leg when the umpires are certain that both boats are sailing to either
- a windward mark,
- a leeward mark, or
- the finish.
This applies when one of them is OCS, and it also applies when they have rounded different marks in order to get on that leg.