Team Race Call H2
Rule 15 Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
Rule 21 Exoneration
Rule 31 Touching a Mark´╗┐
Question
Three boats B, X, and Y are approaching an off-wind mark to be left to starboard. The proper course after the mark is a broad reach on port tack. Rule 17 does not apply to B. When B reaches the zone, Y is clear astern. When Y is alongside the mark, B bears away and gybes to prevent Y from passing between her and the mark. Y touches B and the mark and protests. What should the call be?´╗┐
Answer
Penalize B.
When B reaches the zone she is clear ahead of Y who is required thereafter give B mark-room. When Y establishes an inside overlap, she shall also give B room to sail her proper course. Y does so and does not break r18.2(b) or (c).

When B gybes she must initially give Y room to keep clear; she fails to do so and breaks rule 15. After position 4, B is not entitled to exoneration under rule 21(a) because she is no longer sailing her proper course or within the mark-room to which she is entitled. Y is exonerated under rule 21(a) for breaking rule 10 and under rule 21(b) because she was compelled to break rule 31.
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more