B and Y are separated and not on a collision course. B intends to tack but after passing head to wind she loses way. Before B is on a close-hauled course, Y bears away onto a collision course with B. B is unable to take any avoiding action that would prevent contact if Y were to stop bearing away. However, Y bears away continuously and passes astern of B. Y protests. What should the call be?
No penalty. Y’s change of course at position 1 requires her to give B room to keep clear (rule 16.1
). Because B has lost way, she does not have room to keep clear if Y maintains her course. Y complies with rule 16.1
by bearing away further.
Will the answer change if B’s helmsman intentionally loses steerage and places the boat in a situation where it will be impossible to keep clear if Y changes to a collision course?
No. Whether or not she does so deliberately, no rule prohibits B from being in the position she is in here, or requires her to anticipate Y’s change of course.
A right-of-way boat changing course may comply with rule 16.1
by changing course further and thus giving the other boat room to keep clear. (See also Call ).