Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Round a mark- obstrugtion- colliison
This case is based on a club race in light wind (2-3m/s) flat sea, the boats are 26 feet and must round a mark on starboard side. It was windward mark or at least the boats had to sail close hauled to round it on starboard.
Yellow came on starboard tack in the Zone (3 NM), had to take one tack to round the mark on port. Green was in the Zone on port tack and had already fencing the mark but was almost stopped because of wind shift or lack of wind.
Yellow duck behind Green to avoid collision.
Blue was sailing on starboard tack, in the Zone, a leeward to Yellow, When Yellow entering the Zone there was not an overlap between Blue and Yellow. Blue also was sailing slow because of wind shift or lack of wind.
The gap between Blue and Green became little bit narrower when the skipper on Yellow notes that the obstruction (Green) was two feet longer because of an outboard motor that was standing 65 cm (2 feet) out from the transom of Green.
There was a collision between Yellow and Blue when Yellow start tacking. Yellow broke rule 14 and 13.
There was no damages or injury on Blue nor Yellow.
The was no protest and no one take a penalty turn.
1- Green vs Yellow: Yellow is a ROW boat, Green should have given Yellow a room to round the mark because Yellow was on starboard, Green was on port, rule 10 applied.
Green should have taken penalty or DSQ.
2- Blue vs Yellow: Blue is ROW boat; she is leeward boat rule 12 and later 11 when overlapped applied?
Blue is the (outer boat) and should have given Yellow (the inner boat) room with obstruction (Green) rule 19,2 (b) applied?
Blue probable does not have to give Yellow room to round the mark 18.2 (b) because the overlap was established after Yellow enter the Zone?
Collision between Yellow and Blue: Yellow broke rule 14 and when tacking rule 13. Was the collision because Yellow start to tack to early or is she sailing her proper course.
Rule 16,1 did Yellow give Blue time to change the course to avoid collision.
Do the Rule 43 exoneration Yellow and Blue from DSQ?
What is your proposition in this case? Are the maybe other rules that applied? Did Blue fail to give Yellow that room, rule 19.2 (b)? or 18,2 (b)? or have Yellow no right to room at the obstruction (Green) and the mark? Bracing rule 14 and 16, 15, 13?
Created: 21-Jun-01 22:52
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2021-2024
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual