Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

clearing an I Flag 30.1 Foul

Peter Vancolen
Nationality: United States of America
Screen Shot 2020-03-05 at 8.58.29 AM.png 44.6 KB

All boats shown are on the course side of the starting line or one of it's extensions during the last 1 minute before the starting signal. 
Do they each clear their fouls?
Created: 20-Mar-05 15:46

Comments

Mike Vining
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Regional Race Officer
1
I always tell people every sailing rules question is an open book test. So lets read the rule. The "2017-20 book" says:
30.1 I Flag Rule
If flag I has been displayed, and any part of a boat’s hull, crew or
equipment is on the course side of the starting line or one of its
extensions during the last minute before her starting signal, she shall
sail across an extension to the pre-start side before starting.

In the provided diagram, each boat has a line from a course side extension to the pre-start side. So every boat has started properly. 
Created: 20-Mar-05 16:12
Matt Bounds
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Race Officer
1
Agree with Mr. Vining.

The only one that's a bit questionable is red - did she sail completely across an extension?  From the track it appears that she did, but would require a careful watch by the line spotters.
Created: 20-Mar-05 17:06
Craig Priniski
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
0
Red OCS sailed through the line BEFORE crossing the extension,which under prior rules was not permitted, but I don't see a prohibition in the 2020 rule correct? 
Blue OCS but correctly crossed an extension before starting 
Green OCS crossed back over the extension and was clear to start, however she did an extra lap of the RC boat which was not required
Pink OCS, crossed extension started properly green could have done the same.  
Created: 20-Mar-05 17:35
P
Michael Butterfield
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
what I want to know is what program did you do the diagram with?
Created: 20-Mar-05 19:39
Peter Vancolen
Nationality: United States of America
1
The diagram was created using Adobe Illustrator 
Created: 20-Mar-05 19:53
Daniele Romano
Nationality: Italy
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
0
@Matt
It took me a bit to understand your comment...
Now I see it ! That is referred to the left portion of her course (left to the mark): Red must be completely on the course side before we can consider that she crossed the extension BACK to the pre-start side. 
Is that a correct interpretation of your comment?

@Craig
I had a similar comment for Green: that loop is not required... (as for Purple)
Created: 20-Mar-05 21:40
Peter Vancolen
Nationality: United States of America
0
Screen Shot 2020-03-06 at 1.46.49 PM.png 45 KB

I modified the Red path to clearly indicate crossing the extension to clear then jibing to start. Red does not round the pin.
Created: 20-Mar-06 18:51
Mike Vining
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Regional Race Officer
0
OK Matt,

NOW this is a good scenario illustration for the test! Better than more than a few I have really seen. 
Created: 20-Mar-06 18:57
Philip Hubbell
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
  • Judge In Training
0
Often called the Round-the-Ends Rule, it is really the No-Dip-Start Rule. Yet even that is not entirely accurate, as a boat that was below an extension at the gun may sail over an end and do a dip start.
Regarding Red's course: the RC in the Pin End boat of a sizeable fleet will in fact be recording boats that pass by her stern and will have no way to monitor whether Red crossed and re-crossed the extension.
Created: 20-Mar-06 21:31
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more