Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Would appreciate your views on this rounding.... https://youtu.be/FjG1fdM7sTw My view is that when 51 turned down to the mark (18 second on video) outside 4 boat lengths (RC Rules allow 4 lengths - not 3), 15 had established an overlap as the angle across 51’s transom shows 15 ahead of the line. 15 maintained the overlap at all times until the mark, so 51 should have provided mark room.
Agree with Phil and Jeff. When 51 gybes there was an overlap (last point of certainty). I cannot be certain that the overlap was broken, but when 15 also gybed there was definitely an overlap. This supports the inference that the overlap wasn't broken.
Hi Phil, I would agree that 51 was outside the 4 BL zone when 15 became overlapped inside, and 15 is entitled to mark room. In these conditions, I would expect the boats to be covering a little more than 1 boat length per second (ie >1m/s) and from the moment of overlap, it took them at least 4 seconds to reach the mark.
Classic example of a competitor wanting to go wide around the mark and another one on the shorter route inside. Once you gybe you create an overlap all the way to China ! Hence the inside boat has Mark-Room rights as long as the overlap was established outside the zone! Which is clearly the case. Nice RC racing by the way ! Lovely Marks !
The red line is 51's transom extended out. 15 is clearly inside of 51 and has rights.
Also, just before 51 called for room, she gybed onto port inside of the 4 BL circle, so she would have fouled 15 had she continued to head up to try to close the door.
If so there is no entitlement to mark-room (Preamble to Section C)
Edit: ok, sorry looking at the wrong video.
I would agree that 51 was outside the 4 BL zone when 15 became overlapped inside, and 15 is entitled to mark room. In these conditions, I would expect the boats to be covering a little more than 1 boat length per second (ie >1m/s) and from the moment of overlap, it took them at least 4 seconds to reach the mark.
Also, just before 51 called for room, she gybed onto port inside of the 4 BL circle, so she would have fouled 15 had she continued to head up to try to close the door.