Blue on port tack and Yellow on starboard tack are approaching the windward mark on a collision course. The umpires agree that Yellow sails beyond the point where her proper course would be to tack to round the mark. Blue holds her course. Yellow has to tack to avoid Blue.
Both boats display Y flags at position 4. What should the call be?
Penalize Yellow and Blue.
Yellow, the inside overlapped right-of-way boat, breaks rule 18.3
(b) by sailing farther from the mark than needed to sail her proper course before she tacks, and affects Blue’s course while doing so (Blue is unable to bear away to round the mark).
Blue breaks rule 10
by not keeping clear. Because Blue is neither compelled to break a rule, nor entitled to room or mark-room, she cannot be exonerated for her breach.
Coming into the situation, neither boat was in a controlling position because neither boat could impede, affect or change the other boat’s course while complying with the applicable rules.
If the umpires were satisfied that Yellow has broken rule 18.3
(b) deliberately, they would give Yellow a second penalty under rule C8.3
. See also MR CALL M2
By breaking rule 10
, Blue has gained a controlling position. If the umpires were satisfied that Blue has broken rule 10 deliberately or has gained an advantage by breaking the rule after allowing for a penalty, they would give Blue a second penalty under rule C8.3. See also MR CALL M2
If the umpires were not satisfied that either of these conditions existed, the umpires would give Blue a red-flag penalty under rule C6.5(b).
Published: 10 May 2018.