Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • As someone who sailed extensively in dinghies in the 70s and 80s, but outside the mainstream and well away from Olympic classes I can add that, in the UK at least:

    Protests were extremely rare. It was unusual to have a protest at a Championship .
    Few people carried a red flag.
    The red flag requirement served only to discourage protests and discredit the rules enforcement process.

    And yes, we were lectured just as much then about how easy it was to carry and display a flag, and how it wasn't a pointless bureaucratic imposition, but the plain fact is that flags weren't carried, the rule was strongly resented, it did absolutely nothing to make the sport better and the removal of the requirement was arguably the best rule change of the era.

    Today 10:36
  • Calum, I can’t resist pulling your leg about the reference to a “360 degree penalty” in your question:

    “Could you take a 10 year old and say "I am amending Rule 31 so that if you touch a mark you don't need to do a 360 degree penalty" and they would definitely know what amending means?”

    Whether or not 10 year olds would understand “amending”, they might well not understand a “360 degree penalty”, since it disappeared from the RRS 10 years before they were born! (end of December 2004).
    Today 09:57
  • additional facts can be drawn from agreed diagrams.

  • The change of direction to finish may be due to the nature of Case 82. If the SI's clearly write this, then there is no questions or arguments.
    Kim
    Wed 02:44
  • see below.
    RYA 2001/2

    Rule 2,  Fair Sailing
    Rule 60.3(b),  Protests: Delivering a Protest

    When a boat believes that she may have broken a rule and retires in compliance with the Basic Principle, she may revoke her retirement within protest or declaration time if she later realises that she did not in fact break a rule.
    However, if she is not acting in good faith, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing.
    ASSUMED FACTS

    Boat A lodged a protest against boats B and C for sailing the wrong course. Boat B did not believe she had done so, but ‘did the sportsmanlike thing’ and retired. Boat C did not retire. Within protest time, boat A checked her facts with the race committee, and found that her protest was unjustified. She withdrew her protest against boat C.

    QUESTION

    Was boat B then entitled to ‘unretire’?

    ANSWER

    The rules are silent with regard to ‘unretiring’. When a boat retires in compliance with rule 44.1, Penalties at the Time of an Incident: Taking a Penalty, for having gained a significant advantage or causing serious damage in the act of touching a mark or breaking a rule of Part 2, that is irrevocable.

    When a boat retires for some other reason, as in this case, and has indicated her retirement either to the race committee or to another boat, she may reverse this decision before the end of protest time or declaration time, whichever is earlier, provided that she has not broken any other rule in the meantime. For instance, retiring during a race, using her engine, and then resuming racing would preclude ‘unretirement’.

    However, if she has no good reason to ‘unretire’, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing, and the protest committee should, if necessary, extend the protest time limit for any boats that did not proceed with a protest against her because of her initial retirement.

    Question from Royal Southampton YC

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 Michael Moradzadeh 3K
2 Eric Rimkus 1.8K
3 Jerry Thompson 1K
4 John Allan 800
5 Michael Butterfield 600
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more