2021 Aldo Alessio Phyllis
Regatta Santa Cruz 27 Nati

Scoring Inquiry

ST. FRANCIS YACHT CLUB

Inquiry On: 2021-08-21 Received At: 2021-08-21 18:44 PDT

Inquiry No: 01

Course: 4

Race No: 2

Posted Score:

Protest Party: Folkboat - Chris Herrmann

Scoring Inquiry:
If a boat goes inside a prohibited area, specifically inside of Anita, can they correct their error and continue racing or should they
retire. Trying to resolve this among the fleet without tying up the RC.

Response Title:
This is not a scoring inquiry, but moreover a question for the protest committee. This response is from the protest committee.

While we cannot weigh in on any specific incident outside of the context of a hearing, we can remind competitors that the Sailing
Instructions are included in the definition of Rule in the Racing Rules of Sailing, and when a boat does something that is
prohibited by a rule, she has broken that rule. Rule 43 provides exoneration in some circumstances for breaking a rule and Rule
44 and Appendix V provide options for taking a penalty for breaking some but not all rules.
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