Protest

Event: Sukma 2022 Race Number: 7 Hearing Schedule: 2022-09-22 17:35

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 18: Bic techno women - Mas77 - Putri najwa syakirah Ahmad shaharul

Bic techno women - Mas711 - Nur amylia husna Razali

Witnesses: None

Interpreters: Nurul Ain (A member of the International Jury)

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Beyond with Good Reason

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. The hearing request was lodged after the protest time limit. MAS 77 came ashore late because of light wind. On arriving ashore, without wasting any time, she completed and lodged her hearing request. The protest committee extended the time as there is a good reason.

FACTS FOUND

1. MAS 77 and MAS 711 were sailing downwind on port tack towards Mark 4.

- 2. When the first of them started to round the mark, MAS 77 was the inside overlapped boat.
- 3. Whilst MAS 77 was rounding the mark, the board of MAS 711 made contact with the board of MAS 77. The sail of MAS

77 fell on the board of MAS 711 and the sail of MAS 711 fell on the water.

4. After recovering her sail, MAS 711 took a 360 degrees Turn Penalty.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: B2 18.2 (b) and 43.1 (c)

1. MAS 711 outside overlapped when MAS 77 was rounding the mark, failed to give MAS 77 mark-room, and broke RRS B2.18.2(b).

MAS 711 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14. Since MAS 711 was right-of way boat and the contact did not cause damage or injury, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(c) for breaking RRS 14.
It was not reasonably possible for MAS 77, the boat sailing within the mark-room to which she was entitled, to avoid contact with MAS 711 when it was clear that MAS 711 was not giving mark-room. MAS 77 did not break RRS 14.

DECISION

Date & Time: 2022-09-22 19:39 +08

1. Protest upheld. MAS 711 took the applicable penalty and is not further penalized.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Selvam Mookken (SGP) Committee Members: Leonard S Chin (MAS), Byungho Song (KOR), Wee Tee Teo (SGP), Chin In (MAS)

Printed: 2022-09-23 15:08