DECISION

Protest

Event: RS Aero World Championship Race Number: 2 Hearing Schedule: 2023-07-26

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 03: Aero 6 - GBR3875 - Andrew Frost

Aero 6 - USA4467 - Dieter Creitz

Witnesses: GBR4321 (Chris Hatton)

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Yes

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The wind strength was 18 knots and the sea state was choppy.
- 2. GBR 3875 and USA 4467 were both on port tack on a beat.
- 3. USA 4467 was 2 meters clear ahead of GBR 3875
- 4. GBR 3875 course was 1 meter to windward of USA 4467 course.
- 5. USA 4467 passed head to wind, had completed the tack and was sailing close hauled on starboard tack.
- 6. GBR 3875 bore away and passed half a meter behind USA 4467.
- 7. There was no contact, damage or injury sustained.
- 8. No boat took a penalty turn.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 10,12, 13, 15 & 16

1. When USA 4467 and GBR 3875 were sailing both on port tack on a beat to windward. GBR 3875 was keeping clear complying with RRS12.

2. When USA 4467 luffed head to wind GBR 3875 didn't need to take any avoiding action therefore USA 4467 gave GBR 3875 room to keep clear as required by RRS16.

3. After USA 4467 passed head wind until she was on a close hauled course GBR 3875 didn't need to take any avoiding action therefore USA 4467 kept clear of GBR 3875 as required by RRS13.

4. When USA 4467 completed the tack on starboard tack she acquired right of way on GBR 3875 as per RRS10 and complied with requirement of RRS15 by initially gave room to GBR 3875 to keep clear (see following #5).

5. GBR 3875, on port tack, kept clear of USA 4467, on starboard tack, by sailing to pass half a meter behind USA 4467, therefore she complied with RRS10.

DECISION

No boat broke a rule, the protest is dismissed.

Date & Time: 2023-07-26 18:32 CEST

PROTEST COMMITTEE
Committee Type Protest Committee
Chaired By: Marco Sarcoli (ITA)
Committee Members: Marco Giampà (ITA), Sian Reynolds (GBR), Franco Pagliarani (ITA)