DECISION Request No.: 07

Protest

Event: YAI J80 National Championship 2023 Race Number: 3

Hearing Schedule: 2023-08-19

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 07: J80 - Pool D - Boat No 1 - Murugan Nadar

J80 - Pool D - Boat No 3

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Beyond with Good Reason The boats returned to shore late due to light wind conditions and the late

filing of the protest was accepted.

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Yes

Decision: N/A

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

Aniket attended the hearing as an observer.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The wind speed was 5-6 knots.
- 2. Boat No 1 and No 3 were on a downwind leg both on port tack.
- 3. Boat No 1 was to the leeward of Boat No 3.
- 4. Boat No 1 removed the gennaker 3-4 boat lengths from the mark 2P.
- 5. When Boat No 3 entered the zone, Boat No 1 was the outside overlapped boat with 1 boat length distance between the two hulls.
- 6. At the Mark 2P, there was a space of 3/4th boat length between the mark and Boat No 3.
- 7. Boat No 3 sailed past 2P with gennaker still flying.
- 8. The gennaker halyard of Boat No 3 came loose one suddenly and a half boat lengths past the mark further downwind.
- 9. The gennaker of Boat No 3 collapsed and made contact with the hull of Boat No 1.
- 10. No 3 retracted the gennaker 3- 4 boat lengths after passing the mark further downwind.
- 11. Neither boats took any penalty.
- 12. There was no damage or injury.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 11 and RRS 14

- 1. Boat No 3 to windward failed to keep clear of Boat No 1 to leeward, and broke RRS 11.
- 2. Boat No 3 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 3. It was not reasonably possible for Boat No 1, the right-of-way boat to avoid contact with No 3 when it was clear that No 3 was not keeping clear. Boat No 1 did not break RRS 14.

Date & Time: 2023-08-19 22:08 IST

PROTEST COMMITTEE
Committee Type Protest Committee
Chaired By: Satish Kumar Kanwar (IND)
Committee Members: Satyavir Siwatch (IND), Ananya Siwatch (IND)

Printed: 20 Aug 09:00