Request No.: 10

Heard Jointly With Number(s): 11

Date & Time: 2021-09-04 20:25 IST

Event: YAI Senior Nationals 2021 / IN-MDL Cup 2021 Race Number: 7

Hearing Schedule: 2021-09-04

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 10: 470(MIXED) - Indian IND30 - ATUL LENDE SWETA P SHERVEGAR

470(MIXED) - Indian IND 1 - TUNAGER MEHBUBEE SONU JATAV

Request No.: 11: 470(MIXED) - Indian IND 1 - TUNAGER MEHBUBEE SONU JATAV

470(MIXED) - Indian IND30 - ATUL LENDE SWETA P SHERVEGAR

Witnesses: IND 31 (Vignesh), for IND 30

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

Hearing No. 10 was heard together with Hearing No. 11 in accordance with RRS 63.2 since both hearings arose from the same incident.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The wind was around 6 knots and the sea state was 1.
- 2. IND 30 and IND 1 approached the pin end of the finishing line, both on port tack.
- 3. IND 30 was clear ahead by half a boat length when he was 3 boat lengths from the mark.
- 4. IND 1 established an inside overlap over IND 30 when IND 30 was half a boat length from the mark.
- 5. Contact took place between the port side of IND 30 and the starboard side of IND 1 and IND 1 touched the pin end mark while crossing the finishing line.
- 6. Neither boat took a penalty.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 18.2(b), 31, 14

- 1. IND 1 clear astern at the time IND 30 reached the zone failed to give IND 30 mark-room, and broke RRS 18.2(b).
- 2. IND 1 touched the pin end mark and broke RRS 31.
- 3. IND 1 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 4. It was not reasonably possible for IND 30, the boat sailing within the mark-room to which she was entitled to avoid contact with IND 1 when it was clear that IND 1 was not giving mark-room. IND 30 did not break RRS 14.

DECISION

IND 1 is DSQ in Race No 7.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Satyavir Siwatch (IND)
Committee Members: Ananya Siwatch (IND), Gurvinderpal Julka (IND), Soma Pillai (IND), Abhimanyu Patankar (IND)

Printed: 07 Sep 11:43