DECISION

Request for Redress Event: 39th Singapore Windsurfing Open 2020 Race Number: 9 Hearing Date: 2020-02-09

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 02: RS One - Boy - INA 3 - Dexy Priany

RS One - Boy - THA 26 - Bonyarit Sangngem

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit Requested immediately after arbitration at 0945 09Feb2020.

Incident Identified: YesINA3 on starboard claims THA26 on port failed to keep clear
resulting in a collision. INA3 capsized and THA26 failed to carry
out a 360 penalty. THA26 accepted a post race penalty.

Proper Hail: Hail not required

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

DECISION: Request Valid Redress under WCR 62.1(b)

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. The redress request is a result of a capsize in an incident between INA3 and THA26 in Race 9 in which THA26 accepted a post race penalty of 30%.after arbitration.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. At the arbitration, THA26 accepted that she broke Rule 10 and 14 and therefore was penalised with a 30% penalty in accordance with Appendix T T1(b)
- 2. INA 3 capsized as a result of the incident and requested redress under 62.1(b)
- 3. Just before the incident at M1 leg 3, INA3 was on starboard converging with THA26 on port .
- 4. INA3 and THA26 were leading boards and it was 50:50 as to which board was leading when they converged.
- 5. THA26 finished 1st and INA3 finished 2nd in Race 9

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

- 1. Although INA3 was entitled to redress having capsized due to the action of THA26, her position from a 50:50 chance of being 1st to a final position of 2nd is not significantly worse and therefore does not satisfy the criteria in WCR 62.1.for redress to be given.
- 2. THA26 is given a post race penalty of 30% resulting in her score being changed from 1st to 3rd and by default, INA3 becomes the leading board in Race 9 even though finishing in 2nd place(with all other positions unchanged)

DECISION

1. INA3 is not granted redress.

Date & Time: 2020-02-09 10:00 +08

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Leonard Chin (MAS) Committee Members: Teo Wee Lee (SGP), Muhammad Ramlan (INA), Iwan NGantung (INA), Tee Suan Tan (SGP)

Printed: 2020-02-10 02:15