DECISIONRequest Number: 09

Protest

Event: 2019 Monsoon Regatta Race Number: 11

Hearing Date: 2019-07-28

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Initiator: Optimist - Main - IND 1505 - Krishna diwakar

Respondent(s): Optimist - Main - IND 1114 - Ekalavya Batham

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

DECISION: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

This Hearing #9 was heard with Cases #10, 11, 12

FACTS FOUND

- 1. Boats 1565, 1114, 1499, 1504, 1505 and 1579 approached Mark 2P on a run, all on port tack. All the boats were overlapped, when the leading boat 1565 entered the zone. 1565 was the inside most boat, followed by 1114, 1499, 1504, 1505 and 1579 was the outside most boat.
- 2. At the mark, there was a gap of half boat length between 1499 and 1114. The gap between 1499 and the mark was also half a boat length. 1499, 1504, 1505, 1579 were in contact with each other.
- 3. 1565 and 1114 sailed to the wrong side of the mark and 1114 also touched the mark.
- 4. 1114 took a one turn penalty immediately after rounding the mark.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

- 1. Boat 1114 being outside of 1565 was required to give mark room to 1565 as required by Rule 18.2(b). Similarly, 1579 was required to give mark room to 1505, to 1504, to 1114 and to 1499.
- 2. 1579 failed to give mark room to 1505 and therefore broke Rule 18.2 (b). All the outside boats also failed to give mark room to the inside boats and therefore also broke Rule 18.2(b). However, 1114, 1499, 1504 and 1505 are exonerated under Rule 64.1(a) as they were compelled to break the rule due to 1579 which broke Rule 18.2 (b).
- 3. 1114 broke Rule 31, but is exonerated under Rule 21 (b) as she were sailing within the mark room to which she was entitled.

Date & Time: 2019-07-28 15:23 IST

- 1. Boat 1579 is DSQ in Race 11.
- 2. There are no grounds for redress as required under Rule 62.1 and hence redress not granted.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Mark Pryke (AUS)

Committee Members: Benjamin Harding (HKG), Gurvinderpal Julka (IND), Paul McCombie (GBR), Jagdish Singh (IND)

Printed: 10 Aug 08:28