DECISION Request No.: 11

## **Protest and Request for Redress**

Event: 2023 Formula Kite Youth Europeans and KiteFoil Masters Worlds Race Number: 1

Hearing Schedule: 2023-05-26 17:45

### **PARTIES AND WITNESSES**

Request No.: 11: YOUTH - Male - CZE 137 - Jindřich Houštěk

YOUTH - Male - FRA 117 - Eloan Roche

## VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed Red Flag Displayed: Not required

**Decision:** Request Valid

#### **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

#### **FACTS FOUND**

1. Wind 10 knots, flat sea.

- 2. CZE 137 and FRA 117 were sailing downwind on starboard tack, FRA 117 was 10 meters clear ahead and 5 meters to windward of CZE 134.
- 3. Immediately after FRA 117 gybed onto port and after 3 seconds there was contact between FRA 117's lines and CZE 137's leading edge.
- 4. Both competitors fell into the water.
- 5. There was damage on CZE 137's kite: about 10 small holes on the leading edge.
- 6. CZE 137 recovered after 30 seconds and continued racing without loss of performance.
- 7. FRA 117 took a one-turn penalty.
- 8. Before the incident, CZE 137 was in 5th place. CZE 137 finished the race in 12th position.
- 9. CZE 137 sailed the remaining races of the day with the same kite without loss of performance.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

## **CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY**

Rules: RRS 10, 14, F4.44.1, 62.1(b)

- 1. FRA 117 on port did not keep clear of CZE 137 on starboard breaking rules 10 and 14.
- 2. It was not reasonably possible for CZE 137 to avoid the contact, therefore she did not break rule 14.
- 3. FRA 117 took the appropriate penalty as required by RRS F4.44.1.
- 4. CZE 137's place in race F1 was not made significantly worse because of physical damage. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 62.1 are not met.

# **DECISION** Date & Time: 2023-05-26 18:24 CEST

The protest is upheld. Since FRA 117 took an applicable penalty, he is not further penalized under RRS 64.2(a). Redress is not given to CZE 137.

## PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type International Jury

Chaired By: Nikolaos Papageorgiou (GRE)

Committee Members: Marios Zisimatos (GRE), Anastazja Lewandowska (POL), Jan Stage (DEN), Ilca Heinrich (GER)

Printed: 26 May 20:00