Outside Help or Not Outside Help — That is

the question — RRS41

RRS 41 is quite clear that a boat may not receive
help which does not fall into the list of exceptions.
This rule of course is a pillar of the principles of
fairness in sport.

Asking the question, “Tack or Cross?” is soliciting
information, and if on a collision course, any
favourable (“Cross!) response could be considered
‘help’.

‘Help’ may merely be favourable tactical
information, or it could be physically measurable
gain say, as positional or speed advantage. The
helpfulness of the help may differ from case to case.

In its mildest form, the help could simply be
information allowing Paula to take her mind off Sally
and focus on sailing onwards and on her other
competitors without the need to act or prepare to
act to keep clear.

At a more significant degree, the help could be the
fact that Paula is able to cross to a preferred side of
the course, thus a positional gain. On larger multi-
crewed boats where tacking or ducking is costly,
enjoying unimpeded sailing is enough to gain a
relative speed advantage in the race (over say, a 3™
party) through the cooperation/assistance of
another boat.

In its most sinister form, help could be given by Sally
with a malicious goal of giving Paula advantage over
Olive. (This is a form of collusion or team tactic and
could a breach the principals of sportsmanship and
possibly RRS 2. More on that later.)

Whichever degree of help is received, it is still help.
If it was solicited, it still breaks rule 41.

The ‘degree’ of help is only relevant to whether any
3" party would feel aggrieved enough to protest.

Fair’s fair—Orisit? —RRS 2

Sally is not required invoke her right-of-way and
cause Paula to tack or duck to keep clear. If she feels
it is more beneficial to her race to not engage Paula,
that’s her choice. She is entitled to bear away
behind Paula.
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Still, if the boats do reach Point X, then Paula has
not kept clear, and she should take a penalty as per
the fundamental principle of sportsmanship.
Although Sally is expected to ‘enforce’ the rules per
the same principle, the rules do not require her to
protest another boat. Sally does not break RRS 2 by
not protesting Paula.

The sport of fleet racing expects that boats sail as
individuals competing for advantages to help them
win. When a boat receives help from another by
means of a ‘private agreement’, a 3" boat is unable
to compete for that advantage. In short, the rules
do not intend such advantages. RRS 41 sets out the
parameters of the kinds of help a boat is or is not
allowed to receive. Knowingly receiving any help
prohibited by RRS 41 (or breaking any rule) is a
breach of sportsmanship.

Team tactic is of course not permitted in fleet racing
and is a clear RRS 2 breach. However, a seemingly
harmless agreement by Paula and Sally is in effect a
collusion between boats and while may not be
malicious, has the same effect (in terms of
advantages and disadvantages) as team play. Thus,
any agreement between boats no matter how small,
could be under scrutiny in a protest hearing and
found to be a breach of RRS2.

Generally, though, ‘Tack or Cross?’ would not fall
into the scope of RRS2, unless there are 'clear’
elements of the usual concepts, such as knowingly,
repeatedly, malice, intimidation and team tactics
involved.

Variations Around a Theme

In the many discussions on this topic, there are
permutations and variations of the scenario. Each
need not be listed here since the analysis above
should be enough to resolve most of those.

However, a couple of the more interesting or
problematic alternate scenarios are considered.

Sally indicates to Paula to cross but Sally is not able
to execute the duck and a collision occurs — Since
the boats passed Point X, Paula broke RRS10. Sally
broke RRS14.



