# DECISION

#### Event: 2023 Formula Kite Youth (U21) World Championships Race Number: 9 Hearing Schedule: 2023-07-21 17:45

## PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 15: FK - Male - FRA 26 - Solan Autric

FK - Male - BRA 12 - Vittor Maciel B M S Filho

Interpreters: Marcos Americano Rodrigues, BRA 48

#### VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

### Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

### Red Flag Displayed: N/A

**Decision:** Request Valid

### **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

Marcos Americano Rodrigues, BRA 48, attended the hearing as translator for BRA 12.

## FACTS FOUND

- 1. The conditions at the time of the incident were 8-10 knots and flat water.
- 2. After rounding mark 2 BRA 12 and FRA 26 were sailing on starboard-tack with BRA 12 being positioned 15 metres clear ahead and four metres to leeward of FRA 26.
- 3. BRA 12 was sailing a deeper course compared to FRA 26.
- 4. BRA 12 luffed, then lifted her kite and gybed to port-tack, capsizing shortly after her gybe.
- 5. Two seconds after BRA 12 had lifted her kite, FRA 26 also lifted her kite.
- 6. After FRA 26 had lifted her kite, she could sail her course without any further avoiding actions.
- 7. No contact, injury or tangle occured.
- 8. No kiteboad took a penalty.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

## CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 10, 12, F2.16.1

- 1. When changing course and changing the position of her kite before her gybe, BRA 12 ,the right-of-way kiteboard, gave FRA 26 room to continue keeping clear, as required by RRS F2.16.1.
- 2. At this time FRA 26 clear astern kept clear of BRA 12 clear ahead, as required by RRS 12.
- 3. After BRA 12 had gybed to port-tack, FRA 26 could sail her course with no need to take further avoiding action. Therefore, BRA 12 on port-tack kept clear of FRA 26 on starboard-tack, as required by RRS 10.

DECISION The Protest is dismissed. Date & Time: 2023-07-21 18:15 CEST

#### PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type International Jury Chaired By: Per-Olof Ekstrand (SWE) Committee Members: Finn Mrugalla (GER), Stephen Procter (GBR), Timo Haß (GER), Max Marselis (NED)