DECISION Request No.: 08

## **Protest**

Event: YAI J80 National Championship 2023 Race Number: 2

Hearing Schedule: 2023-08-20 15:40

## **PARTIES AND WITNESSES**

Request No.: 08: J80 - Gold Fleet - Boat No 2 - Chinna Reddy

J80 - Gold Fleet - Boat No 1 - Ilemenok

Witnesses: Nadar Murgan (Boat 3)

## **VALIDITY**

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Yes

**Decision:** Request Valid

## **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

Two of the judges were in person including the Chairman. One Judge was Online .

## **FACTS FOUND**

- 1. The wind speed was 5-6 Knots.
- 2. There were waves of about one and a half meter, favoring Port Tacker.
- Boat 2 on Stbd and Boat 1 on Port were sailing close hauled on a converging course.
- 4. Boat 2 on Stbd was three guarters BL away at the Stbd Beam of Boat 1 on Port as they approached closer.
- 5. Boat 1 maintained her course.
- 6. Boat 2 on Stbd tacked to Port, half a BL from Boat 1 on Port.
- 7. After completing tack Boat 2 was on Port Tack to the Leeward of Boat 1 and at less than a quarter BL lateral separation to Boat 1.
- 8. Boat 1 continued sailing on Port tack without altering course.
- 9. Boat 2 bore away and then continued on Port tack, astern and to leeward of Boat No 1.
- 10. After sailing about six boat lengths, Boat 1 Gybed to Stbd, slowed down and crossed the Stern of Boat 2.
- 11. There was No Contact.
- 12. No boat took penalty.

Diagram: Endorsed by Protest Committee

# **CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY**

Rules: RRS 10

- 1. BOAT 2 on Stbd and Boat 1 on Port were on a converging course on a Beat to Windward.
- 2. BOAT 2 on Stbd Tacked to Port to avoid its Bow from a midship collision at the Stbd Beam of Boat 1.
- 3. BOAT 1 on PORT failed to keep clear of BOAT 2 on STBD, and broke RRS 10.

**Date & Time:** 2023-08-20 16:53 IST

- 1. The Protest is Upheld
- 2. Boat 1 broke RRS10 and is DSQ in Race 8 (Gold Fleet 2)

PROTEST COMMITTEE
Committee Type Protest Committee
Chaired By: Ananya Siwatch (IND)
Committee Members: Satish Kumar Kanwar (IND), Satyavir Siwatch (IND)

Printed: 24 Aug 18:02