# DECISION

Heard Jointly With Number(s): 12

Event: YAI J80 National Championship 2023 Race Number: 2 Hearing Schedule: 2023-08-20

# PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 09: J80 - Gold Fleet - Boat No 3 - Murugan Nadar

J80 - Gold fleet - Boat No 4 - Praveen

Request No.: 12: J80 - Gold Fleet - Boat No 4 - Praveen

J80 - Gold Fleet - Boat No 3

Witnesses: Jayalakshmi (Crew of Boat No 3), Satish Kanwar (Jury Member)

### VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Yes

Decision: Request Valid

# PROCEDURAL MATTERS

Jury had seen the incident and gave witness.

# FACTS FOUND

- 1. Wind was 5-6 Knots.
- 2. 20 sec before start Boat 4 was ahead of Boat 3 both on Starboard, holding close hauled with sails luffing about 3 to 4 boat lengths below the start line.
- 3. Boat No 3 was astern of boat No 4.
- 4. Boat No 3 established a leeward overlap of Boat No 4 and luffed hard within 2 secs of establishing the overlap.
- 5. There was a contact between stbd bow of Boat No 3 with port stern of Boat No 4.
- 6. No boat took penalty.
- 7. No damage or injury.

# **Diagram:** Diagram not endorsed

# CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 11, 14, 15 and 43.1

- 1. When acquiring right of way through her own actions, Boat No 3 failed to initially give Boat No 4 room to keep clear, and broke RRS 15.
- 2. Boat No 3 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 3. Since Boat No 3 was right-of way boat and the contact did not cause damage or injury, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(c) for breaking RRS 14.
- 4. It was not reasonably possible for Boat No 4 the boat sailing within the room to which she was entitled to avoid contact with Boat No 3 when it was clear that Boat No 3 was not giving room. Boat No 4 did not break RRS 14.
- 5. Since Boat No 4 broke RRS 11 while she was sailing within the room to which she was entitled, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(b) for this breach.

PROTEST COMMITTEE Committee Type Protest Committee Chaired By: Ananya Siwatch (IND) Committee Members: Satish Kumar Kanwar (IND), Satyavir Siwatch (IND)

Printed: 23 Aug 23:48