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RAPID RESPONSE MATCH RACING CALL 2021.001

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 14, Avoiding Contact

Rule 16.1, Changing Course

Rule 43.1, Exoneration
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Yellow (on starboard tack) and Blue (on port tack) are approaching each other in the
prestart. At pos. 2, Yellow begins luffing and Blue immediately responds by also
luffing, and is always changing course as quickly as she can until she reaches pos. 5.
At pos. 3, if Yellow holds her compass course, she will hit Blue amidships. However,
Yellow continues changing course, and at pos. 4, Blue is keeping clear of Yellow.
Yellow displays flag Y. What should the call be?
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Answer 1
Display the green and white flag.

At pos. 2 when Yellow first changed her course, Blue was keeping clear. When
Yellow changed course, her obligation was to give Blue room to keep clear under
rule 16.1. By continually changing course to pos. 4, Yellow complied with her
ongoing obligation to give Blue room. Blue was sailing within the room to which she
was entitled under rule 16.1, and is therefore exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for her
breach of rule 10.

Question 2
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Shortly after the Dial Up, Blue (L) is the right-of-way boat, and Yellow (W) loses her
bow and begins sliding towards Blue. At pos. 3, Blue bears away and her stern
immediately makes contact with the port side of Yellow. There is no damage or
injury. Both boats display Y flags. What should the call be?
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Answer 2
Penalize Yellow.

When Blue changed course, she made immediate contact with Yellow (pos. 3).
Therefore, based on the definition Keep Clear, Yellow was not keeping clear of Blue
and broke rule 11.

Rule 16.1 is a limitation on the right-of-way boat to allow a keep-clear boat to
continue to fulfil its requirement to keep clear when the right-of-way boat changes
course. Rule 16.1 can only be broken when a keep-clear boat is keeping clear before
the right-of-way boat begins to change course. .

In regards to the contact, rule 14 is not a rule that a boat can protest under by
displaying flag Y (see rule C6.1(a)).

Regarding any protest committee hearing:

Rule 14 required Blue to avoid contact if reasonably possible from the moment it was
clear that Yellow was not going to keep clear. In this situation, due to Yellow’s
proximity, it was not reasonably possible for Blue to avoid contact when it was clear
Yellow was not going to keep clear. Therefore Blue did not break rule 14. Yellow
could have avoided the contact and broke rule 14 but will receive no penalty because
there was no damage or injury.
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Blue (L) and Yellow (W) are sailing on a reach on port tack shortly after rounding the
windward mark, with Blue clear astern and carrying a penalty. Both boats have
spinnakers set and full. The wind is eight knots and the water is flat.

Blue establishes a leeward overlap on Yellow and gives Yellow room to keep clear,
which Yellow does (pos. 1).

Blue then slowly luffs and gives Yellow room to keep clear, which Yellow does (pos.
1-2).

When the boats are on a course between a tight reach and close-hauled, Yellow’s
spinnaker is no longer able to fill. At that time the boats are approximately one boat
width apart and on near parallel courses (pos. 2).

Blue gives Yellow room and time to drop her spinnaker, but Yellow does not lower
her spinnaker for at least 10 seconds (pos. 2).

Yellow then lowers her spinnaker and it makes contact with the port shroud of Blue.
Blue displays flag Y and the umpires penalize Yellow for breaking rule 11. This
offsets Blue’s penalty (pos. 3).

With Yellow’s spinnaker still in contact with Blue’s rigging, Blue bears away
sharply. In the process of bearing away, Blue’s stern makes contact with the
starboard side of Yellow, with no damage or injury.

Yellow displays flag Y. What should the call be?
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Answer 3
Display the green and white flag.
Yellow was properly penalized for breaking rule 11 as she was not keeping clear.

Rule 16.1 is a limitation on Blue to allow Yellow to continue to fulfil its requirement
to keep clear when Blue changes course. Rule 16.1 can only be broken when Yellow
is keeping clear before Blue changed course. In this case, Yellow was not keeping
clear prior to Blue changing course; therefore, Blue did not break rule 16.1. See
Answer 2.

In regards to the contact, rule 14 is not a rule that a boat can protest under by
displaying flag Y (see rule C6.1(a)).

Regarding any protest committee hearing:

In this incident there were two instances of contact. The first was when Yellow’s
spinnaker made contact with Blue’s rigging. Yellow could have avoided that contact,
so she breaks rule 14. It was not reasonably possible for Blue to avoid that contact, so
Blue did not break rule 14.

The second instance of contact was when Blue bore away and swung her stern into
the side of Yellow. If it were decided that it was reasonably possible for Blue to have
avoided that contact, Blue broke rule 14. If it were decided that Yellow could not
have avoided that contact, she did not break rule 14.

In both instances of contact, if there is no damage or injury as a result of the contact,
neither boat will receive a penalty for breaking rule 14.

It is important to note that the standard sailing instruction regarding handling of boats
states: ‘...the following are prohibited: Sailing the boat in a manner that it is
reasonable to predict that significant further damage would result.’” Blue may break
this SI (if it applies) if the protest committee concludes that Blue’s change of course
resulted in more damage than what the contact would otherwise have created had
Blue not borne away in the manner she did.
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