DECISION Request No.: 32

Protest and Request for Redress

Event: 2024 Formula Kite World Championships Race Number: F3 Silver

Hearing Schedule: 2024-05-18 19:25

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 32: Formula Kite - M - POR 81 - Tomás Pires De Lima

Race Committee

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes
Proper Hail: N/A
Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

- 1. POR 81 was represented by Tomás Pires De Lima.
- 2. The Race Committee was represented by Mirco Babini.
- Rolan Dano (member of the Race Committee) provided evidence during the hearing as witness for the Race Committee.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. On 17 May, in race F3 silver, the Race Committee used flag U as preparatory signal.
- 2. The Race Committee observerd one kiteboard in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting line and the first mark in the last second before the starting signal, on the pin-end side of the starting line.
- 3. Using a video taken from the pin-end starting vessel, the Race Committee scored SUI 49 UFD in this race.
- 4. SUI 49 lodged a scoring inquiry, claiming he was not UFD.
- 5. The Race Committee reviewed the starting videos, from the signal and pin-end race committee vessels, and used the tracking to confirm the identification of the UFD kiteboard.
- 6. On 17 May at 23:26, the Race Committee answered to SUI 49's scoring inquiry, reinstating SUI 49 in his finishing position, and scoring POR 81 UFD instead.
- 7. On 18 May at 11:11, POR 81 lodged a scoring inquiry, requesting to watch the video from the starting vessel.
- 8. The Race Committe reviewed again their evidence.
- On 18 May at 18:25, the Race Committee answered to POR 81's scoring inquiry, confirming his score of UFD in race F3.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 62.1(a)

There was neither an improper action nor omission of the Race Committee. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 62.1(a) are not met.

DECISION

Redress is not given.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type International Jury Chaired By: Alan Baser (GBR)

Committee Members: Yoann Peronneau (FRA), Heiko Falch (GER), Anastazja Lewandowska (POL), Sandy Grosvenor (USA), Alain Champy (FRA)

Printed: 19 May 11:06

Date & Time: 2024-05-18 20:01 CEST