DECISION

Request for Redress

Event: Sail India 2021 Race Number: 14 Hearing Schedule: 2021-12-14

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 09: 49er - INDIA 315 - ALANKAR SURYAWANSHI

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Hail not required

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

Aman Vyas (IND 336), Parveen Kumar (Coach of INWTC (Mumbai) attended the hearing as observers.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The wind was approx 14 knots and the sea state was 3.
- 2. IND 315 was sailing on Leg 3 on starboard tack and was on the starboard layline for mark 1.
- 3. IND 30 had capsized on that leg and one of the crew, Naveen Vashisht, was in the water, in an unconscious state.
- 4. The helmsman of IND 30 was hailing for help.

5. IND 315 immediately proceeded to the capsized boat, both the helmsman and the crew of IND 30 jumped in the water and held the head of Naveen Vashisht outside the water.

6. The coach boat of INWTC (Mumbai) was in the vicinity and the crew of IND 315 hailed it for help.

7. The coach boat of INWTC (Mumbai) came to the capsized boat, recovered Naveen Vashisht from the water and proceed ashore.

8. By that time the finish window had closed and IND 315 was scored DNF in race 14.

9. The mark boat of marks 2S/2P could not record the position of the boats while passing through the gate at the end of Leg 2, as the mark boat had been deployed for rescue efforts.

10. The course designated for race 14 was L2.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 1.1, 62.1, A9 (b)

IND 315's score in race 14 was made significantly worse through no fault of her own by giving help in compliance with RRS 1.1 to someone else than herself or her crew.

DECISION

Date & Time: 2021-12-14 11:36 IST

Redress is given to IND 315. IND 315 is to be scored in race 14 points equal to the average, rounded to the nearest tenth of a point (0.05 to be rounded upward), of her points in all races sailed before race 14.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Tribhuwan Jaiswal (IND) Committee Members: Gurvinderpal Julka (IND), Amreshwar Singh (IND), Vinod Kumar Bhatt (IND)

Printed: 2022-03-21 17:03