DECISION Request No.: 07

Protest

Event: YAI Junior National Championship 2023 Race Number: 10

Hearing Schedule: 2023-10-12

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 07: ILCA 6 - IND 207336 - Aryan Harshayana

ILCA 6 - IND IND 222622 - Sachin

Witnesses: Pareekshit, IND 202013

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

Decision: Request Valid IND 207336 had informed the RC of her intent to protest as required by SI

17.

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. Satish Kanwar arbitrated the hearing request.

2. IND 207336 did not withdraw the protest after the arbitration meeting and neither boat accepted a Post-Race Penalty under RRS T1(a).

FACTS FOUND

- 1. IND 222622 was on port tack at one boat length from the port end start mark of the start line at 40 secs to start with a strong tide pushing the boat towards the port end start mark.
- 2. IND 207336 was on starboard tack three boat lengths astern of IND 222622 and six boat lengths away from the port end start mark towards the centre of the start line.
- 3. IND 202013 was on starboard tack in between IND 222622 and IND 207336.
- 4. 20 secs before the start signal IND 222622 tacked to starboard and moved below the port end start mark and tacked again to port tack to start her race.
- 5. IND 222622 crossed the start line on Port tack with a lateral separation of half boat length between the port end start mark and the the boat.
- 6. IND 207336 started her race on starboard tack.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 31

While *racing*, IND 222622 did not touch the starting mark before *starting* of the course on which she was sailing and complied with her obligations of RRS 31.

DECISION Date & Time: 2023-10-12 15:35 IST

IND 207336 did not withdraw the protest after the arbitration meeting and neither boat accepted a Post-Race Penalty under RRS T1(a).

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type Protest Committee Chaired By: Soma Pillai (IND)

Committee Members: Gurvinderpal Julka (IND), Abhimanyu Patankar (IND), Satyavir Siwatch (IND), Gaurav Kinha (IND)

Printed: 13 Oct 20:33