Event: 34th Marmaris International Race Week Race Number: 5 Hearing Schedule: 2023-11-02 17:10

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 03: IRC 4 - GREEN 5-43 - RUS 2113 - SYMFONY - ANTON TIMAKOV

IRC 4 - GREEN 11-49 - TUR 1059 - ZACAPA - SELIM SHCHEGOLEVA

Witnesses: Agile (Perederii Aleksei), Black Eagle (Oleg Kalinin)

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Yes

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1) Egar Koniukhouskii (Symfony crew) act as a translator for Symfony, Black Eagle and Agile.

FACTS FOUND

1) RUS 2113 to windward and TUR 1059 leeward, both on starboard were on the run approaching starboard gate mark.

2) RUS 2113 was sailing towards the mark, TUR 1059 sailed higher on converging course with RUS 2113. As distance between boats reduce RUS 2113 respond and luff to paralell course with TUR 1059.

3) Boats were sailing overlapped with bow to bow parallel at angle app. 135° from the wind when TUR 1059 as outside and leeward boat enter the zone first.

4) Both boats continue on starboard passing starboard gate mark to their port side.

5) At distance 2,5 boat lengths from the mark TUR 1059 gybed to port. RUS 2113 immediately followed. Boats finished the gybe one boat length from the mark.

6) After gybe RUS 2113 was on port, inside and leeward with lateral distance 4 m to TUR 1059 also on port. TUR 1059 was half boat length ahead.

7) RUS 2113 sailed towards mark and gybed.

8) TUR 1059 sailed parallel and to windward of RUS 2113 and gybed immediately after RUS 2113.

9) RUS 2113 rounded mark first, followed by TUR 1059.

10) No contact occurred, no boats took penalty turns.

Diagram: No Diagram Needed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 18.2(b)

1. TUR outside overlapped at the zone, failed to give RUS mark-room, and broke RRS 18.2(b).

DECISION

TUR 1059 is DSQ in race #5

Date & Time: 2023-11-02 19:07 +03

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type Protest Committee Chaired By: Jan Stage (DEN)

Committee Members: Aslan Ozcakir (TUR), Uros Zvan (SLO), Antonio Mata (POR), Nusret Dönmez (TUR)