DECISION Request No.: 17

Protest and Request for Redress

Event: KiteFoil World Series Gizzeria & A's Youth Foil Europeans Race Number: 10

Hearing Schedule: 2022-07-22

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 17: KF MEN - ITA 38 - Lorenzo Boschetti

KF MEN - NED 52 - Sven Van De Kamp

Witnesses: Florian Gruber

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

FACTS FOUND

- 1. 40 seconds to starting signal of race n. 10
- 2. ITA 38 on starboard approaching to starting line to start.
- 3. NED 52 on port sailing well below and in parallel to starting line.
- 4. ITA 38 and NED 52 on collision course.
- 5. Both kites kept their courses for several seconds.
- 6. There was a contact between the kites.
- 7. Kites were tangled.
- 8. Untagling took 3 minutes.
- 9. NOR/SI 9.3 states that a kiteboard starting later than 1 minute after her starting signal will be scored "Did Not Start".
- 10. Both of the Kites didn't start in the race n. 10.
- 11. There was a damage on both kites some lines were broken.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 10, 14, 62.1

- 1-NED 52 on port failed to keep clear of ITA 38 on starboard, and broke RRS 10 and 14.
- 2-By not starting in race n. 10 NED 52 took a applicable penalty for his infrigment.
- 3-It was not reasonably possible for ITA 38, the right-of-way boat to avoid contact with NED 52 when it was clear that NED 52 was not keeping clear. ITA 38 did not break RRS 14.
- 4-ITA 38 scored in race 10 was not made significantly worse by the damage since by the time he was untangled, the time to start had already expired. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 62.1 are not met.

Date & Time: 2022-07-22 20:36 CEST

1-NED 52 took a applicable penalty for his infrigment and no further penalty imposed but the incident is counted to determine the number of tangles the kiteboard has caused during the event.

2-Redress is not given.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Santiago Villamil (ARG)

Committee Members: Ewa Jodlowska (POL), Aleksander Prusinski (POL), Luca Supplizi (ITA)