DECISION Request No.: 02

**Request for Redress** 

Event: YAI 37th Hyderabad Sailing Week 2023 Race Number: 7

Hearing Schedule: 2023-07-07 12:50

**PARTIES AND WITNESSES** 

Request No.: 02: ILCA 6 - OPEN - IND 202236 - 202236 - KRISHNA YADAV

Protest Committee

Witnesses: Raghu, RO on Mark Boat No 1

**VALIDITY** 

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

**Decision:** Request Valid

## **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

SS Siwatch, Judge on the jury Boat on water, against whose action the redress is requested, is also a member of the PC Panel hearing the request for redress.

## **FACTS FOUND**

- 1. Wind was about 15 knots with waves.
- 2. Sail No 202236 approached the windward mark to round it on starboard tack.
- On Water Jury boat was 4 boat-length from the windward mark, on the side opposite to the boats approaching to round it to sail the Course.
- 4. 202236 was unable to manage the boat in a seamanlike manner in the existing conditions when rounding the mark, and instead of bearing away to run for downwind leg, continued to sail on reach towards the jury boat after the boat sailed past the mark.
- 5. Sail No 202236 made contact with the Jury boat.
- 6. The jury boat attempted unsuccessfully to move out of course of 202236.
- 7. There was no damage or injury, and 202236 continue to sail the race after getting clear of the jury boat.
- 8. Sail No 202236 had rounded the windward mark at 30th place before contact with the jury boat after the first windward leg, and was placed 32nd after the 2nd windward leg.
- 9. Sail no. 202236 finished the race at 25th place.
- 10. There was no Damage or Injury.

Diagram: No Diagram Needed

## **CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY**

Rules: 62.1(a)

1. Sail no. 202236's place in race 7 in ILCA 6 - Open was made worse through her own fault. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 62.1 are not met.

**DECISION** 

Date & Time: 2023-07-07 13:41 IST

Redress is not given.

## PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type Protest Committee

Chaired By: Deepak Singh Dikhit (IND)
Committee Members: Satyavir Siwatch (IND), Ananya Siwatch (IND)

Printed: 09 Jul 13:28