Flying Double Headsails on downwind leg
Nationality: United States of America
Created: 17-Jul-29 07:54
I just completed a PHRF race today on San Francisco Bay and a boat just ahead of me (Merit 25) on the downwind leg flew two jibs with one whisker pole and main. Is that legal in racing? In our club racing, a rating credit of 18 sec/mile is available to boats rated with a spinnaker but electing not to fly one during the race. The combined area of those two jibs was probably equal to the area of his spinnaker. Is there a rule that addresses this issue?