Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Tacking on top of another boat

Matthew Wolstenholme
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Hi all.
I have a question regarding tacking on top of another boat that was raised at a regatta I did recently. 
It was towards the end of the first beat, I was on starboard and a boat was coming in on port. I wanted to tack over to port as well but wanted to make sure he was behind me before doing so. I called starboard and he ducked me and then I tacked as soon as he had completed his duck so that when I tacked he couldn't hit me but this meant I was taking his wind. After the race he asked me at which point I was allowed to tack after he ducked me because he thought I couldn't tack immediately and had to give him space to have clear wind whereas I thought I just had to allow him to complete his manoeuvre. 
If anyone knows the answer to this could they please let me know?
Cheers,
Matthew
Created: 19-Aug-09 12:30

Comments

Matt Bounds
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Race Officer
2
No rule was broken.

P kept clear of S (rule 10) by ducking S's stern.
S gave P room to keep clear when she changed course by tacking (rule 16.1)

There is no obligation in the rules for a right of way boat to "give space to have clear wind."  This is a perfectly legitimate tactic on an upwind leg.
Created: 19-Aug-09 13:13
Doug Bailey
Nationality: United States of America
1
Your obligation is to keep clear physically. The rules are silent on clear wind.
Created: 19-Aug-09 13:15
Charles Darley
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • Regional Umpire
3
I was just about to say the same as Matt, he beat me to it.  Of course a tactic of the boat ducking is to luff as soon as he has ducked.  When the starboard boat passes head to wind, the ducking boat must hold his course.  The boat initially on starboard and now tacking is prevented from bearing away to close hauled.  If the ducking boat gets it right, he comes out ahead.
Created: 19-Aug-09 13:19
P
Paul Zupan
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • National Judge
  • Regional Umpire
1
The starboard boat is obligated under 16.1 in that, when she changes course, she shall give room to the port boat to keep clear.  There is no limitation otherwise.  And in your case, you should take a look at 16.2.  There is an additional requirement that any change in course by the starboard boat shall not cause the port boat to immediately need to change course to continue keeping clear.  There is a common misconception that the starboard boat must freeze while the port boat passes astern, or that the starboard boat can't immediately tack.  There is no rule that prevents those actions by the starboard boat, other than the limitations of RRS16.
Created: 19-Aug-09 13:26
Tim Hohmann
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
Half the point of tacking in that situation is giving the other boat dirty air (the other half being protecting starboard rights as you approach the layline). If Port wants to avoid the situation he can tack to leeward rather than duck 

I like the move Charles suggests though, I'm going to remember that. 
Created: 19-Aug-09 16:21
P
Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
  • Fleet Measurer
0
I'm trying to put my finger on that case/appeal where the STB boat waves Port thru and port tacks on her.  It's the opposite of course, but puts an underline to the question of there is obligation to provide a clean lane.
Created: 19-Aug-09 17:52
Jeff Keenan
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Umpire
0
There is no obligation for the original port boat to hold course after strbd has gone through htw since 15 does not apply to original port boat.  It was strbd’s action that caused right of way to change.  Also, since strbd tacked into overlap, 17 does not apply as well.  Leeward port can luff all she wants while complying with 16.
Created: 19-Aug-09 21:52
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States of America
0
What Charles and Tim are referring to is the "slam punk", described here:

https://www.sailingworld.com/how-to/three-winning-team-race-moves/

It's also D4 in the 2017-2020 Team Racing Call Book:

https://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/TheCallBookforTeamRacing2017digital-[21946].pdf


Created: 19-Aug-09 21:55
P
Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
  • Fleet Measurer
0
Al, Maybe it was D4 I was thinking of, but I could swore there was one where STB lets Port pass and then port tacks on top too. 
Created: 19-Aug-09 22:53
Philip Hubbell
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
  • Judge In Training
0
We saw and ruled on this one in practice shortly after it was published in SW, Angelo.
P crosses very close ahead of S. 
S anticipates an immediate controlling tack by P.
S proactively luffs head to wind to prevent P's tack.
P must curtail her tack, or tack back immediately, either way killing boat speed, 
or P will cause contact without rights or force S to take avoiding action.
Even if P's tack is completed, the resulting overlap gives S, now leeward, 
luffing rights with no restrictions because the from-astern overlap was caused by P's action.
Created: 19-Aug-12 21:01
[You must be signed in to add a comment]