Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Is an area an obstruction

Willii Gohl
Nationality: Germany
Certifications:
  • International Judge
Can an area be designated in the sailing instructions as an Obstruction? The definition in the RRS defines an obstruction as "An object..."
We have no definition of "object" in the RRS. The Oxford Dictionary e.g. defines "object" as " A material thing that can be seen and touched." Is an area a material thing?.
RRS App. L # 10 is not really an argument.
Created: 18-Feb-12 20:22

Comments

Claudio Uras
Nationality: Italy
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Regional Umpire
  • Regional Race Officer
  • International Judge
Thumbs up x1
6
Thumbs down x1
The second sentence of the definition Obstruction reads "An object that can be safely passed on only one side and an area so designated by the sailing instructions are also obstructions. Based on this my answer is YES, an area designated in the sailing instructions can be considered an Obstruction even though it does not qualify as an object according to the Oxford Dictionary.
Created: 18-Feb-12 22:06
Bruno Marques
Nationality: Brazil
Certifications:
  • International Judge
Thumbs up x1
0
Thumbs down x1
Complementing the Comment by Claudio Uras, RRS19 and 20 will apply at the boundaries of an area even if they are virtual, in the sense of being defined by coordinates. We don't want boats to sail, for example, into prohibited military zones or cross borders between warring countries, even by one inch.
Created: Tue 02:16
Willii Gohl
Nationality: Germany
Certifications:
  • International Judge
Thumbs up x1
0
Thumbs down x1
Agree with the two of you
Created: Tue 07:07
John Fothergill
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
Thumbs up x1
0
Thumbs down x1
In a similar vein, can you declare an area as an obstruction in the SIs that sailors must not enter even when they’re not racing. For example, an area of our lake is a nature reserve in which Sailing is not permitted. Or do the SIs only apply during racing?
Created: Tue 09:08
Yves Leglise
Nationality: France
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Measurer
  • International Judge
  • Regional Umpire
  • National Race Officer
Thumbs up x1
0
Thumbs down x1
No need to write it in the SIs. Local regulations should be enough.
No penalisation by juryn though.
Created: Tue 12:33
[You must be signed in to add a comment]