Request No.: 03

#### **Protest and Request for Redress**

Event: 2024 Spring Fest Race Number: 1 Hearing Schedule: 2024-04-06 17:00

### **PARTIES AND WITNESSES**

Request No.: 03: Knarr - USA 102 - Benino - Mark Dahm

knarr - USA 135 - jonathan perkins

Knarr - USA 105 - Lykken - Shaum Sinawi

Knarr - USA 39 - Thor - Jeffrey Spoering

Witnesses: Mark Dahm for Knarr 102

### **VALIDITY**

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Yes

**Decision:** Request Valid

### **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

USA 102 was represented by Mike Peterson, 35 by Larry Swift.

# **FACTS FOUND**

- 1. USA 102, 135, 105, and 39 were sailing downwind, 8 boat lengths from the finish of race #1.
- 2. USA 135, 105, and 39, sailing from clear astern, established an overlap to windward of USA 102.
- 3. USA 135 was 1 to 3 meters above 102.
- 4. USA 105 was 1 to 3 meters above 135.
- 5. USA 39 was 3-5 boat widths to windward of USA 105.
- 6. USA 102 altered course to windward. USA 135 initially altered course to keep clear of USA 102.
- 7. USA 105 had room to alter course to windward, but did not do so.
- 8. When it was clear that USA 105 was not altering course to keep clear of USA 135, USA 135 and USA 102 altered course to leeward to avoid a collision.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

### **CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY**

Rules:

- 1. USA 135 to windward failed to keep clear of USA 102 to leeward, and broke RRS 11.
- 2. USA 105 to windward failed to keep clear of USA 135 to leeward, and broke RRS 11.
- 3. Since USA 135 was compelled to break RRS 11 as a consequence of USA 105 breaking RRS 11, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(a) for this breach.
- 4. USA 102's score in race 1 was not made significantly worse by damage or injury and therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 62.1 are not met.

## **DECISION**

Redress is denied.

USA 105 is DSQ in race #1.

Date & Time: 2024-04-06 17:45 PDT

Committee Type Protest Committee
Chaired By: Paul Zupan (USA)
Committee Members: Andrew Lorenzen (USA), Richard Reitmeyer ()

Printed: 08 Apr 10:24