# DECISION

**Protest and Request for Redress** 

Event: Sailing Point Easter Regatta Race Number: 9 Hearing Schedule: 2023-04-09 15:45

#### PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 26: Optimist - Junior - GER 1715 - M - Korbinian Grawe

Optimist - Junior - SLO 187 - M - Filip Valjavec

Witnesses: Aileen Sorg GER 1674

#### VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

#### Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

#### Red Flag Displayed: N/A

**Decision:** Request Valid

#### **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

- 1. Father of GER 1715 attended hearing as an observer.
- 2. Hearng was held under N1.4(b)

### FACTS FOUND

- 1. Wind around 18 knots, choppy waves.
- 2. GER 1715 sailing on starboard near the starting line with low speed 1 minute 30 seconds before the starting signal.
- 3. SLO 187 sailed perpendicular to wind sailing on port on a converging course with GER 1715.
- 4. At a distance of 1 boat length between the boats GER 1715 shouted "water".
- 5. Contact occurred between SLO 187 bow and aft port side of GER 1715 hull.
- 6. GER 1715 suffered a dent with an 8 cm long crack in the laminate.
- 7. SLO 187 took two turns penalty.
- 8. GER 1715 choose to retire from the race.

#### Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

#### CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 10, 14, 44, 62, Case 107

- 1. SLO 187 on port failed to keep clear of GER 1715 on starboard, and broke RRS 10.
- 2. SLO 187 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 3. It was not reasonably possible for GER 1715, the right-of-way boat to avoid contact with SLO 187 when it was clear that SLO 187 was not keeping clear. GER 1715 did not break RRS 14.
- 4. Damage is not considered to be serious.
- 5. GER 1715's place in race no. 9 was made worse through her own fault. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 62.1 are not met.

## DECISION

The protest is upheld. SLO 187 took appropriate penalty as per RRS 44 is not further penalised. Redress is not given.

Date & Time: 2023-04-09 16:45 CEST

PROTEST COMMITTEE Committee Type International Jury Chaired By: Jan Winkler (CRO) Committee Members: Uros Zvan (SLO), Joep Straus (BEL)

Printed: 2023-04-10 13:54