DECISION Request No.: 01

#### **Protest**

Event: 2024 ILCA Oceania & Australian Masters Championships Race Number: 2

Hearing Schedule: 2024-04-13

**PARTIES AND WITNESSES** 

Request No.: 01: ILCA 6 - 143350 - Chris Thompson

ILCA 6 - 217851 - Michael Pitt

Witnesses: 143350 witnesses: Martin Lindsey, Phillip Tooth (pin boat

crew)

## VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed Acknowledged by both

parties

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

**Decision:** Request Valid

## PROCEDURAL MATTERS

During arbitration, it was determined that it was appropriate that the request should proceed to a full hearing.

Video evidence of the incident was provided by the pin boat crew

#### **FACTS FOUND**

Wind 10-15kn, Choppy conditions

143350 approaching port end of start line on starboard clear astern on 217851

217851 approaching port end of start line on starboard approximately 2 boat lengths below the line with sails luffing and approximately 25m from the pin boat.

217851 and 143350 on converging course prior to start

Immediately before the start 143350 obtained an overlap to leeward on 217851 from clear astern and approximately 1 boat length to leeward.

143350, the leeward boat, altered course to windward but did not give 217851 the windward boat room to keep clear.

There was contact.

It was not possible for 217851 to avoid contact.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

# **CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY**

Rules: 11, 14, 16.1

- 1. When changing course 143350, the right-of-way boat, failed to give 217851 room to keep clear, and broke RRS 16.1.
- 2. 217851 broke RRS 11 buy not keeping clear but is exonerated under RRS 43.1(a).
- 3. 217851 did not break RRS 14 as it was not reasonable possible for her to avoid contact.
- 4. 143350 broke RRS 14 as it was reasonably possible for her to avoid contact.

DECISION Date & Time: 2024-04-13 10:56 AEST

143350 is to be scored DSQ in Race 2.

PROTEST COMMITTEE
Committee Type Protest Committee
Chaired By: Nev Willis (AUS)
Committee Members: Greg Kemp (), Jan Kemp ()Michael O'Neill

Printed: 14 Apr 08:39