Request No.: 09 Protest by RC

Event: 2024 Formula Kite European Championships Race Number: 7

Hearing Schedule: 2024-03-20

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 09: Race Committee

Formula Kite - Male - CYP 17 - Denis Taradin

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes Proper Hail: N/A Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. The RC was represented by Michal Jodlowski.

- 2. The panel of the International Jury was composed in accordance with RRS N1.4(b).
- 3. The RC did not come to the hearing when the International Jury gave the decision.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The starting area is defined in NoR/SI 9.5 as the area 300 meters from the starting line and marks in all directions.
- 2. CYP 17 was assigned to race in the men's Red fleet for races Q6 and Q7.
- 3. Around 50 seconds before the starting signal of race Q7 of the men's Blue fleet, CYP 17 was observed by the RC to be sailing close and eventually crossing the starting line.
- 4. CYP 17 was previously observed just to windward of the starting line during the starting sequence of race Q6 of the men's Blue fleet.
- 5. CYP 17 did not interfere with kiteboards racing.
- 6. Race Q7 was the nearest in time to the incident in which CYP 17 sailed.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: NoR/SI 9.5, RRS 64.2

1. By sailing in the starting area when her warning signal had not be made and the starting sequence for another fleet's race was in progress, CYP 17 broke NoR/SI 9.5.

Date & Time: 2024-03-20 18:32 CET **DECISION**

- 1. Using the Discretionary Penalty Guide, a starting penalty of 5% was decided.
- 2. The penalty was increased because it was a repeated breach of NoR/SI 9.5.
- 3. Since CYP 17 broke NoR/SI 9.5 while not racing, her penalty shall apply to race Q7 which was sailed nearest in time to the incident, in accordance with RRS 64.2.
- 4. CYP 17 is penalized 10% applied to race Q7, calculated as stated in RRS 44.3(c).

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type International Jury Chaired By: Adrian Bauder (SUI)

Committee Members: César Sans (ESP), Marios Zisimatos (GRE)

Printed: 23 Mar 14:12