Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Match Race G4 Call

Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Fleet Measurer
I saw Paul's comment in the RRS 17 on this site referencing MR Call G4, which I've now reviewed. I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around how a boat can overlap another boat to windward and later become overlapped to leeward without overlap being broken. Seems to me there will be a moment when one boat or another will be clear astern during that transition.

What am I not seeing?

Ang
Created: 17-Sep-06 11:57

Comments

Nigel Vick
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • National Umpire
  • International Judge
Thumbs up x1
0
Thumbs down x1
It is quite possible if the Spinnaker is "flown" over the other boat. 

The overlap is between the back of the rudder (even if underwater) and the most forward part of the spinnaker (when in normal position), so the bow of the trailing boat may be some distance astern of the back of the leading boat. It is, therefore, possible for the boat behind to change course and get to leeward, while the overlap remains in place.

Quite often I hold a hand up to give me a vertical edge to judge an overlap, there being quite a distance between the back of the rudder and the front of the spinnaker.
Created: 17-Sep-06 13:40
Boris Kuzminov
Nationality: Russian Federation
Thumbs up x1
3
Thumbs down x1
Created: 17-Sep-06 13:47
Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Fleet Measurer
Thumbs up x1
1
Thumbs down x1
You guys are awesome. Thanks for the description and the great diagram!

Paul, I LOVE this freak'n forum!  :-)

Ang

PS .. that trick is a lot harder to pull off in a J/105 ;-)
Created: 17-Sep-06 14:32
[You must be signed in to add a comment]